Wednesday, September 05, 2007

9 projects win Aga Khan Awards
The Aga Khan Awards for Architecture occur once every three years and include prizes totalling $500,000. Winning projects must benefit Muslims (Aga Khan is a "direct descendant of the prophet Muhammad," according to the Washington Post). However, the architects themselves don't need to be Muslim — Cesar Pelli won three years ago for Petronas Towers in Malaysia.

At the awards ceremony in New Dehli yesterday, nine projects won recognition. The Washington Post and Ottawa Citizen both offer readers in-depth reports.

The winners:

• Samir Kassir Square, Beirut, Lebanon

• Rehabilitation of the City of Shibam
, Yemen
(Photo courtesy of AFP, Getty Images)

• Central Market,
Koudougou, Burkina Faso

• University of Technology Petronas,
Bandar Seri Iskandar, Malaysia

• Restoration of the Amiriya Complex
, Rada, Yemen

• Moulmein Rise Residential Tower
, Singapore

• Royal Netherlands Embassy
, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

• Rehabilitation of the Walled City
, Nicosia, Cyprus

• School in Rudrapur, Dinajpur, Bangladesh

No comments: